Dillard honors staff members with Eagle Award

Division administrative assistant,has been named Dillard’ssecond Eagle Award recipientfor excellent customer service,following Dianne Lane’s selectionlast fall.Ezeb was recognized by theDillard University Staff Instituteon Jan. 15.A graduate of Tulane University,she has worked at DUfor 21 years, the last three ofthem with Dr. Danille Taylor,dean of Humanities, whenEzeb came over to replace fouradministrative assistants whodidn’t return post-Katrina.”She does an extraordinaryjob at her position,” Taylorsaid of her “right-hand”staffer. “She is doing the jobof four people.” Taylor addedthat Ezeb “doesn’t settle formediocrity.”Lawrence J. Weber Jr.,grants coordinator for theMass Communication Department,has been working withEzeb for three months, butknew her when he was a Humanitiesstudent. He called her”the glue that holds this buildingtogether.”The school’s first honoree,Lane, has been a switchboardoperator for information technologyand telecommunicationsfor 17 years, prior tocoming to Dillard, the NewOrleans native worked forAMOCO Corp. for 16 years.”I love my job and whatI do, and I love the people,”Lane said.According to the vote madeby the Reward and RecognitionTeam and her co-workers,Lane was chosen because ofher dedication to Dillard, hercare and compassion in interactionswith customers andco-workers and her demonstrationof excellent customerservice that goes above andbeyond the call of duty.Terry Simon, director oftelecommunications, said hehas worked with Lane for nineyears and described her as being”a very dedicated and hardworkingperson who consistentlygives 100 percent.”The new Employee Rewardsand Recognition Program’saim is to enhance morale andcreate a sense of harmonyamong the Dillard Universitycommunity, President MarvaleneHughes said on the DUWebsite.The Reward and RecognitionTeam consists of AudreyClements, ITT; MonicaGivens, business and finance;Orenthal Goudia, ITT; EulaLynch, business and finance;Rachel Mercadel, business andfinance; Crystal Pierson, businessand finance; Curtis Smith,postal services; Jackie Thomas,postal services; Robin Toliver,business and finance; AndrewWest, ITT; and Bryant Williams,business and finance.