Newly Elected Officers for the 2013-2014 Academic school year

NEW ORLEANS (Oct. 3, 2013) Nicole Tinson, a political science major from Los Angeles, ran unopposed to become DU Senior Class president, as did 12 other candidates in 18 student races held Sept. 18-19.

Jordan C. Johnson bested Shukura Nixon to become Freshman Class president with 58 percent of ballots, according to results provided SGA Parliamentarian Christine Maiden. Julia Hendrieth (63 percent) won over Brunisha Jones for vice president. Chelsea Bosley won 80 percent of the vote over Adriuna Smith to become attendant; General Hurst bested Nathan Gros with 59 percent to become gentleman.

Unopposed freshmen were Shelby-Jessica Randolph, chaplin; Mariana Dupont, historian; and Jasmine Everfield, on-campus representative.

Last spring’s elections left several leadership positions vacant, resulting for a new elections process to fill vacancies for the 2013-2014 Student Government Association and class councils during what typically would be Freshman Class elections. Before a candidate could be placed on the ballot, he or she must have been nominated by a colleague; attended one of the three leadership institutions; and participated in speeches and debates.

Other SGA unopposed races included: LeQuan Woods, secretary; Serigne Sene, off-campus representative; and Triston Brown, SGA historian. For treasurer, Sha’Kayla Nunez won over Arianna McArthur with nearly 52 percent of the vote.

In the Senior Class, others unopposed were Damon Carraby, off-campus representative, and Jared Ganbrell, gentleman. Shelby Edwards was elected class attendant with 68.2 percent of the vote over Jessica Gordon.

In the Junior Class, unopposed were Tatiana Rivas-Ventura, vice president, and Treshon Tipton, treasurer.

The final Sophomore Class position, gentleman, was filled by Eugene Hills, who was unopposed.

 (Delesia Daniels contributed to this report.)