Dillard freshmen head to polls Wednesday

NEW ORLEANS (Sept. 12, 2017) – Five candidates are vying for the position of freshman class president during online voting Wednesday, Sept. 13.

These and other candidates were introduced during the speeches and debates events last Thursday in Georges Auditorium. Voting is being held through myDU.

Candidates for president include: Emila Charles, criminal justice major from Lafayette; Jai Flowers, political science major and Demetrius Grant, both from Los Angeles; Zariah Nolan, psychology major from Memphis, Tenn.; and Toiya Smith, an urban studies/public policy major from Fort Worth, Texas.

Four seek the position of vice president, including: Tiara Hamilton, a psychology major from Lafayette; Camryn Linton of Houston; Mylan Morris-Eley, Los Angeles; and Rodney Perkins, a biology major from New Orleans.

Other slates include:

  • Secretary: Cassia Myles, Jordan Cane and Ashley Berry.
  • Treasurer: Amirah Little and Braxton Williams.
  • Parliamentarian: BreAsia Austin, Leah Cunningham, Neisinia Mafi, Nicole Perry,  Cabria Ridgnal and Kendra Tillman.
  • Director of public relations: Alisha Coleman, Jaquan Fort, Kaylin McGlothen, Ayana Robinson, Jermaine Robinson, Tania Royster and Jasmine Watson.
  • Chaplain: Taylor Bosie , Dinah Cador, Nic Evans, and Katelyn Foster.