Miller, Caldwell elected as top 2018-19 DU royalty

J. Quenton Cooper/Courtbouillon
Kennedy Watson, the incoming president of the Student Government Association,  discusses her platform during candidate speeches and debates in Georges Auditorium on April 5. Watson’s position was one of 11 positions filled by unopposed candidates. Voting for other positions was held Wednesday.

NEW ORLEANS (April 13, 2018) – A Minden political science major and an urban studies major from Houston will reign as Miss and Mister Dillard based on April 11 election results.

Ke’Adria Miller and Joseph Caldwell will lead the 2018-19 royal court, based on Bleu Connect online election results released by Courtney Williams, director of student engagement and leadership. Some 48.8 percent of the student body participated in voting, a new high, up 5.4 percent increase from last year’s voter turnout, according to officials.

Meanwhile, John Lawson, a Shreveport mass communication sophomore, was elected as vice president of the Student Government Association Executive Board.

Kennedy Watson, a business administration major from Mobile, Ala., was unopposed as SGA president, along with Arienna Miller, a Houma biology major, secretary; Brianna Thomas, a St. Rose business administration major, treasurer; and Leah Erby, an English major from Chicago, parliamentarian.

New class officers include:

  • Senior class: Madison Torry, president (unopposed); Alexis Cole, Miss Senior, and Hampton Craig, Mister Senior.
  • Junior class: Shawndrea Pierre, secretary (unopposed); Dominique Jones, parliamentarian; Essence Thomas, Miss Junior; and Todd Welch, Mister Junior.
  • Sophomore class: Breanna Bailey, Miss Sophomore, and Seantrell Lemar, Mister Sophomore. The other officers were unopposed: Tiara Hamilton, president; Lydia Paige-Moffett, vice president; Rachel Riley, secretary; Kelasia Edwards, treasurer; and Carlos Pollard, senator.