Freshman elections under way

NEW ORLEANS (Sept. 6, 2019) – Seven freshmen seek to lead the Class of 2023’s freshman class council as campaigning gets under way ahead of next Friday’s online elections.

Some 32 students were nominated Aug. 30, and campaigns were allowed to start Thursday. Elections will be held from midnight to 5 p.m. Friday, Sept. 13, through Bleu Connect.

Events scheduled next week in advance of the election include:

  • Meet the candidates: 11 a.m. Tuesday in Kearny Lounge.
  • Speeches and debates: 6 p.m. Wednesday, Georges Auditorium.
  • Royal Court showcase: 7 p.m. Thursday, Georges Auditorium.
  • Election watch party and induction: 6:30 p.m. Friday, Student Union Ballroom.

Candidates for president include Breon Perkins, criminal justice; Brittani Johnson and Braxton Turk, both in mass communication; Maya Horton, film; Jerika Edwards, urban studies and public policy; Ernest Bass, biology; and DeSirer Bailey, business.

Other freshman council candidates include:

Vice president: Chasity Washington and Taylor Dewitt, both in criminal justice; Mariah King-Barnett, theatre; Yasmine Fontenot, psychology; and DeAndre Bell II, business.

Secretary: Natalie Linney, film, and Harriston Turk, biology pre-med.

Parliamentarian: Yasha Hughes, political science.

Senator: Zaige Wills, physics; Tamira Guillard, nursing; Ayriah Barr, criminal justice; Faythe Huffman, biology; and Aaron Brown, business/financial economics.

Royal Court candidates are:

Mr. Freshman: Jared Ingram, biology; Taye-Rafael Jackson, film; Spencer Jones, urban studies and public policy; and Roger Scott, business.

Miss Freshman: Lorryiane Henry, public health; Paulina Webber, English/pre-law; Peyton Vannorsdell, biology pre-med; Julia Tippen and Chandler McBride, both mass communication; LeAnne Adams and Bria Carbo, both film; and Trinity Carter, business/financial economics.