46 join Thompson/Cook Honors Program

NEW ORLEANS (October 31, 2019) – Some 46 students were inducted into Dillard University’s Daniel C. Thompson/Samuel DuBois Cook Honors Program at a recent pinning ceremony here.

Some 153 members are now a part of the program for “scholastically gifted” students that program led by Dr. Jonie Dillon, director. The program promises to sustain scholarly capability and provide a good and moral system for dependable social activism in a multicultural, worldwide setting.

Students inducted at the Sept. 29 pinning included:

Jalen Adams, Thomas Adams, Noah Armstrong, Caitlin M. Barnes, Shakyra Beasley, T’ya Brooks, Ciara Brothers, Langston Carter-Price, Caytlyn Collins, Quiana Cooks, Colby Crain, Savannah Dorsey, Jailen Doyle, Tamara Ellison, Raven Gabriel, Jasmine Guy, Tiara Hamilton, Kalin Hankton, Ashton Holsey, Jared Ingram, Tairah Jackson, Camryn Jackson, Olivia Johnson.

Also, Genesis Johnson, Yana Johnson, Ki’Avian Johnson, Maya Jones, Natalie Linney, Kaila Love, Jamika Mack, Michelle Marfo, Kennedy Musgrave, Bailey Patterson, Valerie Rhodes, Tania    Royster, N'Dia Ruffin, LaJeanne Shelton, Schyler Smith, Keyana Stanley, Imani Townsend, Kaylyn Turner, Courtney Walker, Paulina Webber, Honour Williams, Samiya Williams and Zaige Wills.

Dillon described the benefits of participation as enhancing the collegiate experience.

“Our members have gotten the opportunity to participate in resume workshops; receive professional headshots; participate in state and national conferences; participate in leadership retreats; and enroll in Honors by Contract courses.”

She said they also get to pre-register for classes in Tier One.

“Members are able to develop themselves not only personally but professionally as we stress the importance of being ready to answer the call when it comes,” Dillon said.