Marissa Pittman, sole candidate, to lead SGA in 2022-23

J'Brionne Helaire/Courtbouillon

NEW ORLEANS (March 28, 2022) – Students will select their royal court and some positions in Student Government Association by an online vote Wednesday.

The leadership for most SGA positions has already been decided, with only one person running for SGA president, vice president, secretary and parliamentarian, respectively.

Therefore, Marissa Pittman will be the incoming president and Tyler Finley vice president. The new secretary is Jaznine Clark while Daliyah Dixon will serve as parliamentarian.

Some 14 juniors, six sophomores and nine freshmen are in the running as voting will begin at midnight Tuesday and end at 5 p.m. Wednesday. A watch party is set for 7 p.m. Wednesday in Georges Auditorium to announce the results.

Dr. Courtney Williams, director of student engagement and leadership, said the highest number of votes will determine the winners, with no runoff election planned, as has been the case for several years now.

Other SGA positions

Candidates for additional SGA positions include:

– SGA senators: Madisyn Hicks, Lyric McKay, Tyronae Smith and Eliya Tulloch.

Royal court

Candidates are listed below by position sought:

– Miss Dillard: Trinity Alexander, Jerika Edwards, Kayln Turner and Ucari Morris.

– Mr. Dillard: Jared Ingram and Spencer Jones.

– Miss Senior: Ashlynn Barnes and Brea Porter.

– Mr. Senior: Dillion White, Jaren Barnes and Anthony Brooks-Ervin.

– Miss Junior: Trinity James, Judeline Joseph and Kennedy McCaskey.

– Mr. Junior: Datjuan Harris (winner by acclamation).

– Miss Sophomore: Taylor Tunstall, Keriana Rogers, Kennedy Carter and Julaya Blackmon.

– Mr. Sophomore: Nigel Giles and Deandrew Thomas.

Informational sessions for the royal court and SGA were held March 8 and 10. The deadline for nominations was March 11. Campaigning began March 17 and speeches and debates were held March 24.