Post Classifieds

Two political science freshmen to represent class on Royal Court

Unfilled positions in other classes included on ballot

By Jorden Hampton Editor-in-chief
On October 22, 2021


Photo Credit: J’Brionne Helaire/Courtbouillon
Newly elected winners of freshman and senior slots on the Royal Court pose together after the Oct. 13 announcement. From left are Miss Senior Kennedy Bennett, Mr. Senior Justus Zion Gennuso, Miss Freshman Kennedy Carter and Mr. Freshman De’Andrew Thomas. They will be part of the Coronation activity in two weeks during Homecoming festivities.

NEW ORLEANS (October 22, 2021) – Two political science freshmen have been elected to represent the class on the DU Royal Court, according to results provided by the DU Office of Student Engagement announced recently. 

Results of the Oct. 13 elections, typically for freshmen positions, also included selections for the positions of Mr. and Miss Senior; the Student Government secretary and treasurer; and two class representatives and one senator.

Some 239 students, about 20 percent of the student body of 1,215, voted for the SGA positions; that number was the most voting in any one of the races.

Freshman class

DeAndrew Thomas of Thibodaux and Kennedy Carter of Baton Rouge were selected as Mr. and Miss Freshman, respectively.

Royal Court positions are made on a point system that includes student votes for 50 percent, along with an individual interview (20 percent) and showcase (30 percent.) Thomas, unopposed, had a score of 80.2. 

Carter, who had four opponents, received 31.3 percent of the vote and a score of 49.9. The other candidates included Kevell Byrd, Mikayeia Richard, Keriana Rogers and Taylar Tunstall.

Three freshman senators with the highest vote percentages were selected from four candidates: They are Daliyah Dixon of Lafayette and Madisyn Hicks of Shreveport, both criminal justice majors;  and Tyronae Smith of New Orleans, a political science major. The other candidate was Jaznine Clark.

Ravient Burns was unopposed as freshman representative.

Senior class

A physics major from Lake Charles and a public health major from Houston were elected as Mr. and Ms. Senior, respectively. Justice Gennuso was unopposed. Kennedy Bennett ran against Amaya Sweeney and won with 64.4 percent of the vote and a score of 61.1.

Jermany Gray, a political science major from Jackson, Mississippi, was unopposed as senior presentative.

SGA positions

The SGA cabinet was completed with the selection of its secretary and treasurer. Both were unopposed.

Secretary Kaila Johnson is a junior biology major from Luling. Jasmine Guy, the new treasurer, is a senior accounting major from Jackson, Mississippi.


Get Top Stories Delivered Weekly

More ducourtbouillon News Articles

Recent ducourtbouillon News Articles

Discuss This Article



Log In

or Create an account

Employers & Housing Providers

Employers can list job opportunities for students

Post a Job

Housing Providers can list available housing

Post Housing

Log In

Forgot your password?

Your new password has been sent to your email!

Logout Successful!

Please Select Your College/University:

You just missed it! This listing has been filled.

Post your own housing listing on Uloop and have students reach out to you!

Upload An Image

Please select an image to upload
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format
Provide URL where image can be downloaded
Note: must be in .png, .gif or .jpg format